4 South Plains natives inducted into walk of fame

4 South Plains natives inducted into walk of fame
Lubbock Memorial Civic Center (Source: City of Lubbock)

LUBBOCK, TX (KCBD) - Civic Lubbock, Inc. officially inducted four Texas natives into the West Texas Walk of Fame Thursday night at the Lubbock Memorial Civic Center Theater.

The four inductees are Josh Abbott, Donnie Allison, Bob Livingston and Garland A. Weeks.

The induction is set aside for people who were born and raised in the area and have made significant career and life accomplishments.

Abbotts, a country music singer/songrwriter, was raised in Idalou, attended South Plains College and later graduated from Texas Tech in 2005. A year later formed his own band and began touring.

He went on to win Song of the Year, Single of the Year Album of the Year and Video of the Year from the Texas Regional Music Awards in 2011. In 2015 Abbot’s album Front Row Seat was No. 1 on the Billboard’s Independent Albums chart.

Alison, who is also a singer/songwriter and actor/producer, is originally from Wichita Falls but moved to Lubbock in 1970. He graduated from Coronado High School, then went to Texas Tech but ultimately graduated from South Plains College.

Allison is most remembered for his time in the band The Nelsons, where he was the lead vocalist. The group won an MTV Basement Tapes Competition and gained national attention with the song I Don’t Mind, which was composed by Allison.

However, after a four-year battle with cancer, Allison died in 2011 at the age of 49.

Livingston, a raconteur and singer/songwriter, was raised in Lubbock, went to Lubbock High School and graduated from Texas Tech. He was a founding member of the Lost Gonzo Band and is considered a key figure in the progressive and outlaw country movements.

In 2011 his album Gypsy Alibi won Album of the Year at the Texas Music Awards.

Weeks, a sculptor born in Amarillo and raised in Wichita Falls, graduated from Texas Tech and has been a longtime resident of Lubbock. He is a nationally recognized sculptor who served as the official sculptor for Texas in 1995 and was later named a fellow by the National Sculptor Society in 2004.

Before that, he was elected a full member of the National Sculpture Society and National Academy of Western Art in 1990.

Livingston and Abbott performed a special tribute to Allison during the induction ceremony

Copyright 2018 KCBD. All rights reserved.