Early voting for May 4 election ends Tuesday

Early voting begins Monday

LUBBOCK, TX (KCBD) - As of April 16, there are more than 170,000 people registered to vote in the Cities and Schools General and Special Elections on Saturday, May 4 according to the Lubbock County Elections Office.

Early voting starts on April 22 and goes through April 30. The last day to apply for a ballot by mail is April 23.

There are multiple locations to place a ballot for both early voters and for those who wish to vote on election day.

LINK: Complete list of early voting locations

According to a sample ballot, a proposition for issuing road tax bonds for road construction and improvements within Lubbock County will be presented on the ballots.

MORE: Commissioners offer bond approval to voters for $100 million in county road improvements

Multiple areas within the Lubbock County lines will be voting on Independent School District Trustees and board members.

Abernathy, Slaton and Town of Ransom Canyon residents will be placing their votes for a new mayor for their city.

Residents of Abernathy will be voting between Lindsey L. Webb and Ron Johnson for mayor.

Those who reside in Town of Ransom Canyon will be voting between Alan Medina and Jana Trew for mayor.

John Gatica, Clifton Shaw and D.W. “Dubbin” Englud will be running to represent the city of Slaton as mayor.

The City of Slaton ballots will also have a proposition to terminate the the existing City of Slaton Type A Economic Development Corporation and authorize the creation of a City of Slaton Type B Economic Development Corporation.

Roosevelt ISD in Ransom Canyon will be awaiting the votes on a new Place 7 Trustee. The two people running are Joseph Grizzell and Jonathan Meyer.

Five people are running for the position of School Board Member in Abernathy ISD. Residents will be voting on none, one or two of the following candidates: Shawn Vandygriff, Ricky Patterson, Andy Hart, Matthew Z. Dolle and Roy DeAnda Jr.

The City of Wolfforth will be voting on a new City Councilmember. Those running are David Cooper, Randy Gross, Chris Powers and Rod Moore.

Get out and vote Saturday, May 4, 2019.

Copyright 2019 KCBD. All rights reserved.