Amaro named semifinalist for Earl Campbell Tyler Rose award

Published: Nov. 19, 2013 at 9:02 PM CST|Updated: Dec. 14, 2014 at 4:57 AM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Provided by Texas Tech Athletics

Texas Tech junior tight end Jace Amaro is one of 16 semifinalist for the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, an award given to the top offensive player in the country with hometown, high school or junior-college ties to the state of Texas.

Amaro (San Antonio, Texas), who graduated from MacArthur High School, leads the Big 12 Conference with 92 receptions, 1,157 receiving yards and owns six touchdowns on the season while averaging 105.2 receiving yards per game this season.

A semifinalist for the John Mackey Award (nation's top tight end) and the Biletnikoff Award (nation's top receiver), Amaro has eclipsed the 100-yard receiving mark five times this season and was named to seven midseason All-America teams this year.

Amaro is one of seven players from the Big 12 on the list and is the only tight end to be named a semifinalist for the award.

Finalists will be selected from this group and announced on December 9, 2013. The winner will be announced at the award banquet in Tyler, Texas on January 10, 2014.

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, announced in 2012 by the Tyler Chamber and SPORTyler, recognizes the top offensive player in Division 1 football who also exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community, and tenacity; specifically tenacity to persist and determination to overcome adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals.

In addition, the nominee must meet one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas High School and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four year D1 Texas college.


TE Jace Amaro (Texas Tech) – San Antonio, Texas (MacArthur HS)

QB Kolton Browning (ULM) – Mabank, Texas (Mabank HS)

QB Shane Carden (East Carolina) – Houston, Texas (Episcopal HS)

RB David Cobb (Minnesota) – Killeen, Texas (Ellison HS)

WR Mike Evans (Texas A&M) – Galveston, Texas (Ball HS)

QB James Franklin (Missouri) – Corinth, Texas (Lake Dallas HS)

QB Garrett Gilbert (SMU) – Austin, Texas (Lake Travis HS)

WR Antwan Goodley (Baylor) – Midland, Texas (Midland HS)

RB Johnathan Gray (Texas) – Aledo, Texas (Aledo HS)

RB Marion Grice (Arizona State) – Houston, Texas (Aldine Nimitz HS)

WR Jeremy Johnson (SMU) – Tyler, Texas (John Tyler HS)

QB Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M) – Kerrville, Texas (Tivy HS)

QB Bryce Petty (Baylor) – Midlothian, Texas (Midlothian HS)

WR Tevin Reese (Baylor) – Temple, Texas (Temple HS)

RB Lache Seastrunk (Baylor) – Temple, Texas (Temple HS)

RB Charles Sims (West Virginia) – Houston, Texas (Westbury HS)