Sheriff, Commissioner seats on the ballot in Yoakum County

Published: Jan. 8, 2016 at 5:42 PM CST|Updated: May. 6, 2016 at 9:24 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

YOAKUM COUNTY, TX (KCBD) - Yoakum County Sheriff Donald Corzine is not seeking re-election in 2016.  Four candidates are now seeking the position.

Brad Taylor is a military veteran and former Lieutenant with the Texas Department of Public Safety Criminal Investigations Division in Midland.  He currently manages an oilfield trucking company in Denver City.

David Bryant is a military veteran serving seven years in active duty with the Army and three years with the New Mexico Army National Guard.  Bryant is currently a Deputy with the Yoakum County Sheriff's Office.

Jerry Howard has served with the Yoakum County Sheriff's Office for more than 23 years.  He previously worked with the Denver City Police Department.

Raymond Sanchez has previous law enforcement experience as well.  Sanchez is from Midland, and currently works at in electric motor repair in Denver City.

Incumbent Woody Lindsey will face a challenger in his re-election campaign for County Commissioner in Precinct 1.  Lindsey will face Keith Durham in the March Primary.

Ty Powell is not seeking re-election for County Commissioner in Precinct 3.  Chris Blundell, Joe Martinez, and Tommy Box will face off in the Republican Primary.

In order to vote in the March 1st Primary you must be registered to vote by February 1st.  Early voting will run from February 16th through February 26th.

Copyright 2016 KCBDAll rights reserved.