Gov. Abbott requests Presidential Disaster Declaration

Published: Jan. 26, 2016 at 6:20 PM CST|Updated: Apr. 25, 2016 at 5:20 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Provided by the Offices of Governor Greg Abbott

Governor Greg Abbott today declared a state of disaster and requested individual Assistance for Collin, Dallas, Ellis, Franklin, Rockwall and Van Zandt Counties. Governor Abbott also requested Public Assistance for Bailey, Castro, Childress, Cochran, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Dickens, Ellis, Hall, Hardeman, Harrison, Henderson, Hopkins, Kaufman, Kent, King, Lamb, Lubbock, Navarro, Parmer, Rains, Red River, Rockwall, Titus and Van Zandt counties.

This declaration comes after preliminary damage assessments were finalized and federal declaration criteria was met. If the request is granted by the President, affected citizens in these counties may be eligible for Individual Assistance grants of up to $33,000 from the federal government, and low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration.

In addition to the counties included in the presidential disaster declaration request, Governor Abbott added Hockley, Liberty, Terry and Wichita Counties to the state disaster declaration issued on December 27, 2015.

"The severe weather that swept through Texas last December devastated many homes, businesses and lives," said Governor Abbott. "A disaster declaration will provide Texans the resources needed to begin rebuilding after this tragedy."